The Letter of the Day is P: “P” is for Paper Piecing also known as Foundation Piecing (Quilting)

My favorite form of quilting is called paper piecing. I do other kinds of quilting but for me, this is the most interesting and challenging. Most quilters either hate or love it. I haven’t found very many who are in between. 

Using a foundation paper, either bond paper, newspaper, or what I like and use exclusively, is a product called “Fundation” which is similar to interfacing. You print onto the “fundation” and and then sew the fabric to it following the lines. The first piece of fabric goes face up and the rest are sewn on, one seam at a time, right sides together and then you flip it over, iron, and do it over again. it took me about a month to get it right. Drove me nuts which is why I think quilters either hate it or love it. One night, I swear this is true, I woke up in the middle of the night, because the light went on. I got it. The rest is history!Image

Paper piecing allows you to do more intricate work with smaller pieces. and, as I never do anything the easy way, my first two projects were a bit complicated. the one above was the one I learned on. It turned out very well, I think.

 

Image

The one above was the second thing I did, it was difficult on some blocks, easier than others. Following are a pillow and a mini quilt that I made. One other thing, if you use the interfacing  style of paper, you don’t have to take it out. It washes just fine and gives it a little bit of stability.

Image

Image

 

3 thoughts on “The Letter of the Day is P: “P” is for Paper Piecing also known as Foundation Piecing (Quilting)

Leave a comment