The Letter of the Day is G: “G” is for Glitter

Fairy dust, that’s what glitter reminds me of. All of my life I have been fascinated by shiny, glittery things. When the Christmas Season comes on us and I am busy crafting everything from wreaths, to christmas cards to tree decorations my husband always comments on my sparkling presence; I have glitter on my face, in my hair, on my clothes, you name it.

Wikipedia gives this description: Glitter describes an assortment of very small, flat, reflective particles. When particles are applied to surfaces, they reflect light at different angles causing a surface to sparkle or shimmer. Glitter is similar to, but smaller than confetti or sequins. Glitter has been produced and used decoratively since prehistoric times from many different materials including stones such as malachite for mica, insects, and glass. Modern glitter is most commonly manufactured from plastic.

Glitter comes in all colors of the rainbow. You can spread a sheet of glue with a brush over the surface that you want “glitterize”, with a piece of paper underneath to catch the excess, sprinkle glitter heavily and then tip to shake off the leftover glitter. This can be reused and put back into the container. You could also draw lines with glue, say, a name or a design, and apply glue to it for a lovely look.Image

For more control, put glitter in a shaker bottle or a clean salt shaker. If you’ve worked with resin, you can swirl it around and let it dry for a nice effect

I like using the Martha Stewart line of glitters. They are particularly nice and easy to work with.

Here are some interesting uses for glitter from PinterestImageImageImage

3 thoughts on “The Letter of the Day is G: “G” is for Glitter

Leave a Reply

