The Letter Is C: “C” is for Clay

I have to be honest, clay has not been something I’ve used extensively. (But I guess I don’t have to be an expert at everything, right?) I want to but have time issues, actually if we could clone me, there’d be plenty of time for me to do more than dabble. I admire the skills that other artisans have when creating clay projects. I have made beads out of clay, they make beautiful jewelry. I also learned some techniques for combining colors and textures. Using a pasta maker, I was able to layer thin sheets of clay and then merge then into a single one. The orange and black butterfly pin I made came out quite nice, if I do say so myself! Please enjoy the pics at the end of the post.

ImageImage

Fimo and Sculpey are the only clays I have worked with and they stay fresh a long time if kept sealed in a baggy.

There is also somethng called Art Clay silver. According to Fire Mountain: Art Clay is a soft, supple clay mixed with fine silver or gold precious metal powder to create one-of-a-kind custom jewelry. The metal clay fires to 99.9% pure silver or 100% 22Kt gold. Shape the metal clay, let dry, fire and polish. The result is a quality piece of custom precious metal art

Image

 

Here are some examples of clay art:

ImageImageImageImage

One thought on “The Letter Is C: “C” is for Clay

Leave a Reply

